Looking past 09 Hall of Fame Balloting

I know we are all wondering if Rice, Raines, and Blyleven are going to go to the Hall and join Ricky Henderson, but let’s look at the future Hall of Fame and who I think will go.National Baseball Hall of Fame Logo

  • 2009: Jay Bell, David Cone, Ron Gant, Mark Grace, Rickey Henderson, Jesse Orosco, Dan Plesac, Greg Vaughn, Mo Vaughn, Matt Williams.

Henderson this year (along with Rice) Blyleven and Dawson (not on newcomers list)

  • 2010: Roberto Alomar, Kevin Appier,
    Andy Ashby, Ellis Burks, Dave Burba, Andres Galarraga, Pat Hentgen,
    Mike Jackson, Eric Karros, Ray Lankford, Barry Larkin, Edgar Martinez,
    Fred McGriff, Mark McLemore, Shane Reynolds, David Segui, Robin
    Ventura, Fernando Vina, Todd Zeile

Alomar and McGriff first year, Matinez and Burks later.

  • 2011: Wilson Alvarez, Carlos Baerga,
    Jeff Bagwell, Bret Boone, Kevin Brown, Cal Eldred, John Franco, Juan
    Gonzalez, Marquis Grissom, Bobby Higginson, Charles Johnson, Al Leiter,
    Tino Martinez, Raul Mondesi, Jose Offerman, John Olerud, Rafael
    Palmeiro, Paul Quantrill, Steve Reed, Kirk Rueter, Rey Sanchez, Benito
    Santiago, B.J. Surhoff, Ugueth Urbina, Ismael Valdez, Larry Walker, Dan

No first rounders here. Maybe Franco, Matinez, and Bagwell later. Palmeiro???

  • 2012: Pedro Astacio, David Bell,
    Jeromy Burnitz, Vinny Castilla, Scott Erickson, Carl Everett, Jeff
    Fassero, Alex S. Gonzalez, Danny Graves, Rick Helling, Dustin
    Hermanson, Jose Hernandez, Brian Jordan, Matt Lawton, Javy Lopez, Bill
    Mueller, Terry Mulholland, Jeff Nelson, Phil Nevin, Brad Radke, Joe
    Randa, Tim Salmon, Ruben Sierra, J.T. Snow, Jose Vizcaino, Bernie
    Williams, Eric Young

Bernie Williams. A possible is Castilla

  • 2013: Sandy Alomar Jr., Craig
    Biggio, Barry Bonds, Jeff Cirillo, Royce Clayton, Roger Clemens, Jeff
    Conine, Steve Finley, Julio Franco, Shawn Green, Ryan Klesko, Mike
    Lieberthal, Kenny Lofton, Jose Mesa, Damian Miller, Eric Milton, Russ
    Ortiz, Mike Piazza, Reggie Sanders, Curt Schilling, Aaron Sele, Sammy
    Sosa, Mike Stanton, Todd Walker, David Wells, Rondell White, Bob
    Wickman, Woody Williams

WOW. This will be one heck of a year. I’m going with:
Bonds?, Piazza, Schilling. Clemants?, Sosa?, Biggio, Franco, Lieberthal, Alomar, and Wells. I can’t say who will be a for sure first year pick except Piazza, Schilling, and Biggio 

  • 2014: Mike Mussina, Hideo Nomo, Greg Maddux

Maddux definite first year HOFer. The other two not first year, but eventually they will get in.
Possible adds to the list for ’14
John Smoltz, Tom Glavine, Andy Pettitte, Nomar Garciaparra, Jeff Kent, Pedro Martinez and probably Mike Hampton.

I can’t wait for 2013! I’m guessing that if Bonds does go into the Hall, then Sosa, McGwire, Clemens, and Palmeiro will follow. And just kidding on Hampton for ’14.
Feel free to leave any predictions.


  1. juliasrants

    Boy, the next few years will be interesting looking at the HOF eligible players. I really hope that Rice makes it this year. I have real reservations as to whether Barry Bonds should be elected or not. Should he be convicted then in my opinion I don’t think he belongs in the Hall. As for Schilling, it kills me to say this – but I’m not sure he belongs there. None of us in Red Sox Nation will ever forget the “bloody sock”, but I’m not sure it is enough.


  2. Darion

    Ok maybe not first round, but he will make it. If he pitches one more season and get 230 wins, I think he has a very good chance. He’s got over 3,000 Ks, led both the NL and AL in wins, 6 times an All-Star, 3 WS rings, 1 WS MVP, and a career ERA of 3.46. That’s a heck of a career. In my opinion, he’s a HOFer. So is Mussina.

  3. PWHjort

    If Maddux doesn’t get 100% of the vote the HOF needs to take away some of the voter’s voting privileges or go to an on-line vote because obviously some of the ballots got lost in the mail.

  4. hardballblog

    Henderson is stone cold lock. How could you leave the all time stolen base leader out on the first ballot? You can’t. I also think Blyleven should be in. He had some great stats that deserve the Hall. When I saw his stats for the first time there was no doubt in my mind he should be in the Hall. Hopefully the voters cave in this year. Thanks for stopping by HB.

  5. Darion

    pwhjort- very true. I can’t imagine someone saying Maddux doesn’t belong in the Hall. That’s insane.
    Ben- Murphy stats aren’t too bad either. I think that some people forget that Lee Smith was the All Time leader in saves up until Hoffman broke his record a year or 2 ago. Henderson is still the All Time SB leader, but he’s an automatic lock. I don’t see why Lee Smith isn’t already in.
    Smith, Murphy, Blyleven, Dawson (how is he not already in the Hall), Rice, Raines, and Henderson deserve to be in In My Opinion.

  6. The Iceman

    Picks look pretty good. I think that Henderson is a lock, and that Rice and Blyleven should finally get in as well.
    2010: McGriff has the numbers but I think he will have to wait before getting in.
    2011: Possibly Bagwell, Walker (ok, Canadian bias!), and then who knows what happens with Palmeiro. If McGwire is voted in by then, then he has a chance, but if not, the whole steriod era players are in limbo.
    2012: I know the Yankee fans will hate this, but Bernie Williams is not a hall of famer…great Yankee, but that’s it.
    2013: LET THE DEBATING BEGIN!! Bonds, Sosa, Clemens…should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s