Tagged: Hall of Fame

Congrats Rice, Henderson

I thought I would give my take on the newly elected HOF’s. First off, I would have voted for both. They both deserved it and I’m proud they are in. Some people will disagree with the Rice being Hall-material, but I congratulate him and wish him the best. Just to be mentioned is great. Henderson was a shoo-in and should have at least been given 98% of the vote. I don’t see what kind of argument you could have made to make me think that Rickey was not a Hall of Famer. He should have been given the full 100% in my mind.

I will just say that if I could vote, I would have given votes to both of them, Dale Murphy, Bert Blyleven, Andre Dawson, Lee Smith, Harold Baines, Tim Raines and probably Tommy John. They are all Hall of Famers in my book. Next year might be more exciting. Blyleven and Dawson will be favorites coming back. They will be going against a class that will be highlighted by Roberto  Alomar, Ellis Burks, Fred McGriff, Barry Larkin, Andres Galarraga and Edgar Martinez. Alomar and Larkin might be get more than 75% on their first year, but it will be a tough test.   

Looking past 09 Hall of Fame Balloting

I know we are all wondering if Rice, Raines, and Blyleven are going to go to the Hall and join Ricky Henderson, but let’s look at the future Hall of Fame and who I think will go.National Baseball Hall of Fame Logo

  • 2009: Jay Bell, David Cone, Ron Gant, Mark Grace, Rickey Henderson, Jesse Orosco, Dan Plesac, Greg Vaughn, Mo Vaughn, Matt Williams.

Henderson this year (along with Rice) Blyleven and Dawson (not on newcomers list)

  • 2010: Roberto Alomar, Kevin Appier,
    Andy Ashby, Ellis Burks, Dave Burba, Andres Galarraga, Pat Hentgen,
    Mike Jackson, Eric Karros, Ray Lankford, Barry Larkin, Edgar Martinez,
    Fred McGriff, Mark McLemore, Shane Reynolds, David Segui, Robin
    Ventura, Fernando Vina, Todd Zeile

Alomar and McGriff first year, Matinez and Burks later.

  • 2011: Wilson Alvarez, Carlos Baerga,
    Jeff Bagwell, Bret Boone, Kevin Brown, Cal Eldred, John Franco, Juan
    Gonzalez, Marquis Grissom, Bobby Higginson, Charles Johnson, Al Leiter,
    Tino Martinez, Raul Mondesi, Jose Offerman, John Olerud, Rafael
    Palmeiro, Paul Quantrill, Steve Reed, Kirk Rueter, Rey Sanchez, Benito
    Santiago, B.J. Surhoff, Ugueth Urbina, Ismael Valdez, Larry Walker, Dan

No first rounders here. Maybe Franco, Matinez, and Bagwell later. Palmeiro???

  • 2012: Pedro Astacio, David Bell,
    Jeromy Burnitz, Vinny Castilla, Scott Erickson, Carl Everett, Jeff
    Fassero, Alex S. Gonzalez, Danny Graves, Rick Helling, Dustin
    Hermanson, Jose Hernandez, Brian Jordan, Matt Lawton, Javy Lopez, Bill
    Mueller, Terry Mulholland, Jeff Nelson, Phil Nevin, Brad Radke, Joe
    Randa, Tim Salmon, Ruben Sierra, J.T. Snow, Jose Vizcaino, Bernie
    Williams, Eric Young

Bernie Williams. A possible is Castilla

  • 2013: Sandy Alomar Jr., Craig
    Biggio, Barry Bonds, Jeff Cirillo, Royce Clayton, Roger Clemens, Jeff
    Conine, Steve Finley, Julio Franco, Shawn Green, Ryan Klesko, Mike
    Lieberthal, Kenny Lofton, Jose Mesa, Damian Miller, Eric Milton, Russ
    Ortiz, Mike Piazza, Reggie Sanders, Curt Schilling, Aaron Sele, Sammy
    Sosa, Mike Stanton, Todd Walker, David Wells, Rondell White, Bob
    Wickman, Woody Williams

WOW. This will be one heck of a year. I’m going with:
Bonds?, Piazza, Schilling. Clemants?, Sosa?, Biggio, Franco, Lieberthal, Alomar, and Wells. I can’t say who will be a for sure first year pick except Piazza, Schilling, and Biggio 

  • 2014: Mike Mussina, Hideo Nomo, Greg Maddux

Maddux definite first year HOFer. The other two not first year, but eventually they will get in.
Possible adds to the list for ’14
John Smoltz, Tom Glavine, Andy Pettitte, Nomar Garciaparra, Jeff Kent, Pedro Martinez and probably Mike Hampton.

I can’t wait for 2013! I’m guessing that if Bonds does go into the Hall, then Sosa, McGwire, Clemens, and Palmeiro will follow. And just kidding on Hampton for ’14.
Feel free to leave any predictions.